• Translate    
  • Quick links     
Our Mission is to inspire and prepare all students to realize their potential and enhance our global community.



Student Video Announcements


Students at Charter Oak are constantly engaged in technology-rich learning opportunities as they exercise higher-level thinking on a regular basis. The video announcements help build a positive sense of community morale as students, families, and staff all share in conversations about what they see on the announcements. These videos showcase student reporters at all grade levels who interview other students who are living our IB Learner Profiles and Attitudes as role models for each other. They preview and review school events and provide discussion topics to help develop the home/school connection. Parents are encouraged to watch the video announcements at home with their children.


The video announcements also provide many learning opportunities for students to share Action, be inspired by thoughtful quotes and questions, learn about current events, hear from inspirational public figures, and they give an opportunity for students to hone their presentation skills. We make constant connections to literacy with discussions and activities about editing and revising. Together, we work on writing, reading fluency and expression, volume, clarity, as well as non-verbal communication including making eye contact and gesturing. We reflect on challenges and successes and set goals for future recordings. More than anything, the video announcements fill students with pride.




Friday, March 16, 2018- Jacob, McKenna & Josie


Monday, March 12, 2018- Brandon, Elyse & William


Friday, March 9th, 2018- Highlights of Recent Learning at COIA- Alex, Kareem & Arnav


Monday, March 5, 2018- Peek at the Week- Ndaye, Maylin & Chase


Friday, March 2nd, 2018- Week Wrap Up- Ruby, Ashton & Paryss



Wednesday, February 28, 2018- WOW Wednesday: February IB at Home Highlights- Brianna, Owen & Kelly


Friday, February 23, 2018- Week Wrap Up- Lillian, Aiden & Nathalia


Wednesday, February 14, 2018-Spreading Kindness- The Valentine's Way- Nicole, Cooper & Taylor


Monday, February 12, 2018- Peek at the Week- Matthew, Jayme & Miguel 


Friday, February 9, 2018- Week Wrap Up- Kemily, Owen & Portia


Thursday (Snow Day Wednesday!) February, 8, 2018- Living IB All Day, Every Day: Through the Eyes of 1st Graders


Monday, February 5, 2018- Peek at the Week- Felix, Taylor & Justin


Friday, February 2, 2018- Week Wrap Up- Nyla, Lasya & Amir


Wednesday, January 31, 2018- WOW Wednesday- January IB at Home Highlights- Caio, Alyana & Davih


Friday, January 26, 2018-Week Wrap Up- Christina, Aiden & Selena


Wednesday, January 24, 2018- WOW Wednesday- Jayvias, Eli & Madison 


Monday, January 22, 2018- Peek at the Week - Angelina, Pace & Amya


Thursday, January 18, 2018- FRC Play Preview


Friday, January 12, 2018- Week Wrap Up- Sofia, Kevin & Lucas


Wednesday, January 10, 2018- Teacher Action! Yarizmar, Samaria & Jade


Friday, December 22, 2017- Delia, Mikey & Keiliany


Wednesday, December 20, 2017- Nate, Duron & Salene


Friday, December 15, 2017- Diego, Adriana & Keiliany


Wednesday, December 13, 2017- Miseal, Faye & Lennox



Charter Oak International Academy, Grade 5 Trip to the United Nations- A Reflection on Our Experience and Thank You to the FWHPS & the Charter Oak PTO



Charter Oak Connects with CCMC- Staff share personal stories about how CCMC has impacted their lives as a reminder to wear PJs this Friday!

Monday, December 4, 2017- Tifanny, Lily, Kimayah


Friday, December 1, 2017- Julian, AJhanae & Emanuel



Wednesday, November 29, 2017- Winter 2017 Family Academy Promo

Wednesday, November 22, 2017- Wow Work Wednesday: Students in Action! - Yandel, Maya & Cameron


Monday, November 20, 2017- Peek at the Week- Ayden & Liam

Friday, November 17, 2017- Week Wrap Up- Julianna, Nora & Angel



Wednesday, November 15, 2017- A Time to Reflect...- Lillian & Bianca

Monday, November 13, 2017- Peek at the Week- Mina, Caleb & Kayla






Friday, November 10, 2017- Miya, Kelly & Aaron


Monday, November 6, 2017- Daphne, Rose & ShinyWednesday, November 1, 2017- Stephanie, Rafael & Azul

Monday, October 30, 2017- Dominic, Khalil & Zoe

Friday, October 27, 2017 - Angie, Saurya & Valentina

Wednesday, October 25, 2017 - Miluska, Bruno & Jacinia



Friday, October 20, 2017 (air date 10/24/17)- Week Wrap Up- Cole & Andrea

Wednesday, October 18, 2017- Wow Work Wednesday! Addie & Ethan



Monday, October 16, 2017- Peek at the Week- Rafael, Maisie & Daniel



Friday, October 13, 2017- Week Wrap Up- Imani, Eli & Jody

Wednesday, October 11, 2017- Spreading a Love of Literacy: The Global Read Aloud & Literacy Night at COIA!- Sophia & Sama


Friday, October 6, 2017- Week Wrap Up! - Aubree, Nathan & Alexis

Wednesday, October 4, 2017- Shout Outs!- Jazzy, Luis & Aaliyah

Monday, October 2, 2017- Peek at the Week!- Angelina, Eric & Addie


Friday, September 29, 2017- Week Wrap Up! - Kiara, Elias & Violet



Wednesday, September 27, 2017- Wow Work Wednesday- Brooklyn, Sophia, Connor & Ariel


Monday, September 25, 2017- Tips for a Smooth Assembly! - Azul, Daniel & Maisie


Wednesday, September 20, 2017- Peace Day 2017- Ivanna, Isaac & Kimberly

Monday, September 18, 2017- A Peek at the Week- Naliana, Steven & Solana

Friday, September 15, 2017 Spotlight on IB at Home - Riddhi, Robert & Olivia

Wednesday, September 13, 2017- Spotlight on the IB Element of ACTION!- Mikey, Isaiah, Linnaea (Guest starring Aidan & Ben and their taking action to help with hurricane relief!)

Monday, September 11, 2017- A Peek at the Week - Preethy, Christopher & Angelique

Friday, September 8, 2017- A Reflective Recap of Last Year!- Ben, Jalyn & Victor


Upcoming Events

  • March 2018
    • SatMar24 FRC Family Academy 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
    • MonMar26 Student-Led Star Assembly PreK-1 2:00 PM to 2:30 PM

Charter Oak International Academy

425 Oakwood Ave., West Hartford, CT 06110

Juan Melián, Principal

T: 860-233-8506

F: 860-761-1244

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite